Top 10 Batsman with Most Runs in IPL History

IPL 2023 is starting on March 31 as Gujarat Titans will play against Chennai Super Kings. IPL 2023: The opening ceremony will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, Gujarat. IPL 2023: The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League will begin today i.e. on 31 March. Here we will let you know about the top 10 batsmen with the most runs in IPL history from 2008 to 2022.


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is undoubtedly one of the most popular and exciting Twenty20 cricket tournaments in the world. Since its inception in 2008, the IPL has witnessed some of the finest performances from the best cricketers around the globe. One of the most crucial aspects of T20 cricket is run-scoring, and over the years, we have seen some of the most prolific batsmen in IPL history. In this blog, we will take a look at the top 5 run-scorers in IPL history.

Top Batsman with Most Runs in IPL

Virat Kohli is the leading run-scorer

Virat Kohli, a star Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman, has quietly but surely become synonymous with IPL success as he currently holds the record for scoring more runs than any other player in this short-format cricketing tournament. With an astounding 5 centuries and 44 fifties to his name across 223 matches (and 215 innings), it’s no wonder that Kohli is leading the table at 6624 aggregate runs – all achieved while maintaining an impressive average of 36.20!

Shikhar Dhawan: 2nd Batsman with the most runs in IPL till now

Virat Kohli is followed by Shikhar Dhawan and the charismatic PBKS cricketer has scored 6244 runs in 206 IPL matches and averages 35.08. To date, a total of 13 players have scored 4000-plus runs in the IPL. The toppers in the list comprise players from RCB, PBKS, DC, MI, CSK, and KKR.

While four are from CSK (Suresh Raina – 5528 runs in 205 IPL matches, MS Dhoni – 4978 runs in 234 IPL matches, Robin Uthappa – 4952 runs in 205 IPL matches, and Ambati Rayudu – 4190 runs in 188 IPL matches) feature in the list.

Three players from RCB (Virat Kohli – 6624 runs in 223 IPL matches, AB de Villiers – 5162 runs in 184 IPL matches, and Dinesh Karthik – 4376 runs in 229 IPL matches) feature in the list.

Two cricketers from PBKS (Shikhar Dhawan – 6244 runs in 206 IPL matches and Chris Gayle – 4965 runs in 142 IPL matches) and DC (David Warner – 5881 runs in 162 IPL matches and Gautam Gambhir – 4217 runs in 154 IPL matches) present in the highest run-getters in the IPL.

One cricketer each from MI (Rohit Sharma – 5879 runs in 227 IPL matches) and KKR (Ajinkya Rahane – 4074 runs in 158 IPL matches) are also in the top 4000- plus runs.

Highest score in ipl (Individual): Chris Gayle, however, holds many of the individual scoring records including, the highest score in ipl match (175 runs off 66 balls), the most centuries (6), the most 6s scored (326) most 6s in a match (17), fastest century (from 30 balls). This is the highest run in ipl history by a player.

Most runs in a single ipl season: Virat Kohli made the most runs in a single IPL season, 973 runs in 2016.

Also Know: What is Poker? How How to Play it Online

Highest Team Score in IPL History:

RCB scored the highest runs in a match with an astounding score of 263–5 against PWI in 2013, the same match in which Gayle hit his record score for a match in IPL, and also the record for the highest number of 6’s in an inning. This is also the second-highest innings total by any team in a T20 match. The second record is also set by RCB against GL, having scored 248–5. CSK set the record 246–5 against RR. Royals chased a target of 224 in 2020, which is the highest successful run chase in league history.

Details stats of top 10 batsmen with most runs in IPL History

1164Virat KohliRcb21620832641111336.434942129.72542557212
2PbksShikhar Dhawan20019926608610635.184795126.92246684132
3MiRohit Sharma22121628576410930.664424130.29140508234
4DcDavid Warner15515520566812641.994032140.58453551209
5CskSuresh Raina20520030552810032.524043136.73139506203
6RcbAB de Villiers18417040516213339.713403151.69340413251
7PbksChris Gayle14214116496517539.723333148.96631405357
8CskRobin Uthappa2011941749508827.973789130.64027481182
9CskMS Dhoni2282007748788439.663593135.76024339224
10RcbDinesh Karthik2222014142629726.643228132.03020418127
10 Batsman with Most Runs in IPL


In conclusion, these five batsmen have been the pillars of their respective IPL franchises and have consistently performed at the highest level in the tournament. Their contributions to the IPL are invaluable, and their performances will always be remembered as some of the best in the tournament’s history.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Batsman with Most Runs in IPL History

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *