WPL 2023 Winner- Harmanpreet Kaur’s Mumbai Win Maiden WPL Final 2023

WPL Final 2023: Natallie Sciver-Brunt’s determined batting in the last over of a nail-biting final saw her bring up an unbeaten fifty, cementing victory for Mumbai Indians and crowning them inaugural champions of this momentous tournament.

Earlier, the WPL Final between delhi capitals vs mumbai indians, Unbelievable Cameos from Shikha Pandey (27 not out from 17 balls) & Radha Yadav (27 not out from 12 balls) helped Delhi Capitals post a respectable total on board. ( Image Source : @wplt20 / Twitter )

DC vs MI Live Score- WPL Final 2023: 

On a historic night at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, an unstoppable MI side won their WPL 2023 title on Sunday. The chase was led by Nat Sciver-Brunt’s unbeaten half-century (60 off 55 balls; 7 fours) and aided by captain Harmanpreet Kaur’s crucial knock of 37 runs off 39 balls (5 fours). Despite valiant efforts from DC to reach 131/9 with Meg Lanning smashing 35 off 29 deliveries (5 fours), it wasn’t enough against the might of MI who went past 134/3 in 19.3 overs for a memorable seven-wicket victory over Delhi Capitals.

Also Read: RCB is Now in the list of Top 5 Popular Sports Teams Worldwide

Despite a valiant effort from the DC, misfortune caused her to lose in an unfortunate runout. However, thanks to Shikha and Radha’s impressive partnership of 27 runs off 17/12 balls respectively – with three fours and sixes between them – they pushed through leaving their wickets untouched. Matthews secured the Purple Cap trophy due to bagging 3 wickets while Wong and Kerr equally showed brilliant bowling skills taking home two dismissals each.

Delhi vs Mumbai WPL 2023 Final Highlights in words:

 On Sunday, March 26th, history was made as Mumbai Indians were crowned the inaugural victors of the Women’s Premier League 2023! Fueled by Matthews’, Wongs’, and Kerrs’ heroic eight-wicket haul in Delhi Capitals innings, MI was presented with a modest target to achieve. Enter Nat Sciver-Brunt – she battled graciously through adversity to power them home with an unbeaten fifty that sealed this memorable win for her side. With such unwavering determination displayed throughout the tournament; there is no question who deservedly claimed ultimate glory at WPL Final 2023 first-ever final showdown.

Earlier, late cameos from Shikha Pandey (27 not out from 17 balls) and Radha Yadav (27 not out from 12 balls) helped Delhi Capitals post a respectable total on board. Wickets were falling like a pack of cards for Delhi Capitals but Shikha and Radha played some outstanding shots during their last wicket stand, producing 52 runs off just 24 balls, to give their team a lifeline. The duo put up a solid 52-run stand for the 10th wicket to lift Delhi Capitals to a competitive 131 for nine against Mumbai.

Delhi Capitals won the toss and opted to bat first against Mumbai Indians. DC was off to a horrible start, collapsing from 74 for 3 in the 11th over to 79 for 9 after 16, thanks to lethal bowling spells from foreign bowlers Hayley Matthews (4-2-5-3), Isabelle Wong (4-0-42-3) and Amelia Kerr (4-0-18-2). It was the hard-fought 10-wicket stand from Radha and Shikha that helped Delhi cross the 100-mark. Shikha hammered three boundaries and one six during her innings, while Radha hit two fours and as many sixes in her knock.

What is the prize money for winners and runners-up in WPL 2023?

Wpl Winning Price
wpl winning price

WPL 2023 Awards: List of Award Winners and Prize Money

Following are the details of the WPL 2023 Prize Money:

AwardWinnerPrize Money
WinnersMumbai IndiansINR 6 Crore
Runners-upDelhi CapitalsINR 3 Crore
Orange Cap (Highest Run Scorer)Meg Lanning (345 runs)INR 5 Lakh
Purple Cap (Highest Wicket Taker)Hayley Matthews (16 wickets)INR 5 Lakh
Power Striker of the SeasonSophie Devine (13 sixes)INR 5 Lakh
Catch of the SeasonHarmanpreet Kaur against UP Warriorz (Match 15)INR 5 Lakh
Most Valuable Player of the SeasonHayley Matthews (271 runs and 16 wickets)INR 5 Lakh
Emerging Player of the SeasonYastika Bhatia (214 runs and 13 dismissals)INR 5 Lakh
Fairplay AwardMumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals 
Player of the Match (FINAL)Nat Sciver-BruntINR 2.50 Lakh
Power Striker of the Match (FINAL)Radha Yadav (2 Sixes)INR 1 Lakh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *